Tracking updates to tasks with notifications
How do you stay up to date on tasks when you’re awaiting a reaction from a supplier or caller? Especially when you're the one maintaining contact with the caller, you don't want to miss out on changes in the issue's processing.
TOPdesk notifications ensure that you’re informed as soon as a task has been updated. Currently, TOPdesk supports notifications for calls and simple changes. You’ll see the notifications for these updates in a separate panel in TOPdesk, and optionally as browser notifications too.
![]() |
Operators choose individually for which events they want to be kept in the loop by choosing the channels they find important. Click on Settings in the notifications panel to enable or disable the following options:
A task assigned to me has been updated
A bookmarked task has been updated
A task has been assigned to me
A task has been assigned to one of my operator groups.
Stay up to date even when not working in TOPdesk
Note
This option requires an internet connection.
The additional option for browser notifications ensures that you're still notified on updates even when TOPdesk isn’t open in your browser or minimized. Toggle this additional option at the bottom of the notifications panel and you’ll receive notification pop-ups even when TOPdesk’s browser window is minimized.
![]() |
How do I turn on notifications for tasks for my organization?
Activate notifications in the Functional Settings > Task notifications. Once the feature is available in your environment, operators will receive notifications for some events by default. In the personal notification settings
, users can turn the feature off again or specify the events they want to be notified on.
Note
Working in an offline environment? Turn off browser notifications in the Admin Console to hide this option to operators.
Note
Testing notifications: browser notifications don’t work in your test environment. Push messages are turned off, as the notifications might otherwise be pushed to production environments.
Note
Blocking service accounts: do your resolved calls get automatically closed after a while? To prevent spamming operators about these or other automatic updates, create your custom blocklist to exempt specific accounts under Functional Settings > Task Notifications.

